Thursday, September 10, 2009


Labuan is the main island of the Malaysian Federal Territory of Labuan. Labuan is best known as an offshore financial centre offering international financial and business services via Labuan IBFC since 1990 as well as a tourist destination for nearby Bruneians and scuba divers. The name Labuan derives from the Malay word labuhan meaning anchorage.
he Federal Territory of Labuan comprises Labuan Island (75 km²) and six other smaller islands (Pulau Burung, Pulau Daat, Pulau Kuraman, Pulau Papan, Pulau Rusukan Kecil, and Pulau Rusukan Besar), which have a combined total area of 92 km². The islands lie 8 km off the coast of Borneo, adjacent to the Malaysian state of Sabah and the independent state of Brunei Darussalam, on the northern edge of Brunei Bay facing the South China Sea. Labuan Island is mainly flat and undulating and the highest point is only 85 meters. Over 70% of the island is still covered with vegetation. Bandar Labuan, formerly known as Victoria, is the major town and port and faces Brunei Bay.


Labuan Area, Sabah
Hotel Name
Hotel Rating
Beta Service Apartment

Tiara Labuan Hotel

Grand Dorsett Labuan Hotel (Ex.Sheraton Labuan Hotel)

Manikar Beach Resort

Waterfront Labuan Hotel

Mariner Hotel Labuan


 Kuching City Centre skyline at dusk, viewed from across the Sarawak River
Sarawak is one of two Malaysian states on the island of Borneo. Known as Bumi Kenyalang ("Land of the Hornbills"), it is situated on the north-west of the island. It is the largest state in Malaysia; the second largest, Sabah, lies to the northeast.
The administrative capital is Kuching which has a population of 579,900 (2006 census; Kuching City South - 143,500; Kuching City North - 133,600; Padawan- 3rd Mile/ 7th Mile/ 10th Mile - 302,800). The name Kuching literally means ‘cat’ (kucing), although this is the official version, it is much more likely to be derived from Chinese Cantonese for 'Old Place'. Major cities and towns also include Sibu (pop. 254,000), Miri (pop. 263,000) and Bintulu (pop. 176,800). As of last census (Dec 31, 2006), the state population was 2,357,500. For more details about the population see Demographics of Malaysia, though it is interesting to note that Sarawak is, like Sabah to the north, a multicultural state, with no ethnic majority.


Kuching Area, Sarawak
Hotel Name
Hotel Rating
Crowne Plaza Riverside Kuching

Damai Puri Resort & Spa Kuching (ex. Damai Lagoon)

Four Points by Sheraton Kuching

Grand Continental Hotel Kuching

Grand Margherita Hotel Kuching (ex. Holiday Inn)

Hilton Batang Ai Longhouse Resort

Hilton Hotel Kuching

Holiday Inn Resort Damai Beach

Hornbill Golf & Jungle Club

Harbour View Hotel

Kingwood Inn Kuching Hotel

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Rajah Court Hotel

Regal Court Kuching

Permai Rainforest Resort

Santubong Kuching Resort

Somerset Gateway Kuching Hotel

Telang Usan Hotel Kuching

The LimeTree Hotel Kuching

Wesberly Apartment Kuching

Miri Area, Sarawak
Hotel Name
Hotel Rating
Dynasty Hotel Miri

Grand Palace Hotel Miri

Mega Hotel, Miri

Marriott Resort & Spa , Miri

Parkcity Everly Hotel, Miri

Sibu Area, Sarawak
Hotel Name
Hotel Rating
Kingwood Hotel Sibu

RH Hotel in Sibu (ex.Everly Hotel Sibu)

Paramount Hotel in Sibu

Premier Hotel in Sibu

Tanahmas Hotel in Sibu

Bintulu Area, Sarawak
Hotel Name
Hotel Rating
ParkCity Beverly Hotel

Mulu National Park Area, Sarawak
Hotel Name
Hotel Rating
Royal Mulu Resort


Kota Kinabalu City
Sabah is a Malaysian state located on the northern portion of the island of Borneo . It is the second largest state in Malaysia after Sarawak, which it borders on its south-west. It also shares a border with the province of East Kalimantan of Indonesia in the south. In spite of its status as a Malaysian state, Sabah remains a disputed territory; the Philippines has a dormant claim over much of the eastern part of the territory. The capital of Sabah is Kota Kinabalu, formerly known as Jesselton. Sabah is known as "Sabah, negeri di bawah bayu", which means "Sabah, the land below the winds", because of its location just south of the typhoon-prone region around the Philippines.


Tourism, particularly eco-tourism, is a major contributor to the economy of Sabah. In 2006, 2,000,000 tourists visited Sabah and it is estimated that the number will continue to rise following vigorous promotional activities by the state and national tourism boards and also increased stability and security in the region. Sabah currently has six national parks. One of these, the Kinabalu National Park, was designated as a World Heritage Site in 2000. It is the first of two sites in Malaysia to obtain this status, the other being the Gunung Mulu National Park in Sarawak. These parks are maintained and controlled by Sabah Parks under the Parks Enactment 1984. The Sabah Wildlife Department also has conservation, utilization, and management responsibilities.

National Parks

  • Mount Kinabalu National Park - the second highest mountain in Southeast Asia with an altitude of 4,101 metres (13,455 ft). It is only lower than Puncak Jaya in Irian Jaya on the island of New Guinea, Indonesia at 4,884 metres.
  • Turtle Islands Park - conservation efforts for endangered sea turtles
  • Tunku Abdul Rahman Park - A national park consisting of five islands off the coast of Kota Kinabalu
  • Pulau Tiga National Park
  • Crocker Range National Park
  • Tawau Hills